VTLs to expand to five more countries including Indonesia, India and Qatar

The total number of countries in the VTL scheme has increased to 21.

Charlotte Chang

You’ll never meet anyone who loves thriller movies more than her.

Published: 16 November 2021, 1:10 PM

Five more countries have been added to the Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) scheme, bringing the total number of countries to 21. 

From Nov 29, Indonesia and India will be part of the VTL, allowing fully vaccinated travellers from Indonesia and India to enter Singapore. Under the VTL, fully vaccinated travellers visiting Singapore need not serve a quarantine order and will only need to conduct daily PCR tests.

Unvaccinated children aged 12 and below are allowed to enter Singapore if they are accompanied by a VTL traveller who meets all the requirements

From Dec 6, VTLs with Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) will commence. The same requirements for VTLs will also apply to these countries. 

Currently, the countries under the VTL scheme include Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Republic of Korea, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

Singapore and Malaysia are also exploring a possible VTL-arrangement for land travel, and it may be established “in a few weeks”. Currently, Singapore has a VTL with Malaysia’s Kuala Lumpur International Airport.

According to co-chair of the COVID-19 Multi-Ministry Task Force (MTF) Gan Kim Yong, discussions with Malaysia are progressing well.

Singapore and Malaysia share close ties on many fronts, especially among our people,” he said. 

“Many families have been separated from one another for a long time because of border restrictions. We hope this land link arrangement will allow many of them to be reunited, and they will be one of our priorities.”

You may like these