VTLs to expand to 6 more countries including Thailand and Maldives

The total number of countries in the VTL scheme has increased to 27.

Amanda Tan

Skills include buying the same jeans in different colours.

Published: 26 November 2021, 4:33 PM

Six more countries have been added to the Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) scheme, bringing the total number of countries to 27.

From Dec 14 Thailand will be part of the VTL while Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Turkey will join from Dec 16, allowing fully vaccinated travellers from all six countries to enter Singapore. 

Under the VTL, fully vaccinated travellers visiting Singapore need not serve a quarantine order and will only need to conduct daily PCR tests.

Before the COVID-19 pandemic, these 27 countries contributed to about 60 per cent of the total daily arrivals at Changi Airport, said The Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS).

Currently, the countries under the VTL scheme include Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Republic of Korea, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, Finland, India, Indonesia, Sweden, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Malaysia

CAAS said: “This latest extension will further broaden Changi’s network and help reclaim and rebuild Singapore’s status as an international aviation hub with global connectivity.”

You may like these