Tertiary students, full-time national servicemen can now upgrade to SimplyGo concession cards to enjoy EZ-Link mobile app features

This allows concession card holders to enjoy benefits like remote top-ups.

Benjamin Chew

Only drinks bubble tea with 100% sugar.

Published: 20 October 2022, 10:11 AM

Concession cards have been made available under the Land Transport Authority’s (LTA) SimplyGo platform from Wednesday (Oct 19).

Tertiary students, full-time national servicemen, persons with disabilities and their caregivers, as well as senior citizens, can now link their SimplyGo concession cards to the EZ-Link App. 

This allows card holders to enjoy benefits like contactless and remote top-ups, EZ-Link reward points, keep track of travel and retail experiences, receive instant updates for transactions made or when there is low or insufficient credit. 

The upgrade for existing concession cards to SimplyGo concession cards can be done at any TransitLink Ticket Offices or Ticketing Machines.

Registration can be done by entering the 16 digit CAN ID found on the back of the card into the app.

With the launch of LTA’s Simplygo Concession cards, A partnership has also been established between EZ-Link, LTA and Infocomm Media Development Authority’s SG Digital Office (SDO) to help concession card holders with this transition.

To assist commuters, SDO’s digital ambassadors will be deployed at selected MRT stations and Bus interchanges from Oct 20 to Dec 31.

One on one guidance on using the EZ-Link app will be provided by these ambassadors at bus interchanges in Boon Lay, Ang Mo Kio, Bedok , Tampines, Toa Payoh and Hougang from 10am to 5pm daily. The Bedok and Toa Payoh bus interchanges will be closed on Sundays.

Additionally, the Bukit Batok and Tiong Bahru MRT Stations will see these digital ambassadors from 12pm to 7am daily, while the digital ambassadors will only be present at Woodlands MRT Station from 10am to 5pm every day.

As part of the launch, 300 concession cardholders who upgrade to SimplyGo cards can also take part in a monthly lucky draw and stand to win up to $1,000 worth of EZ-Link Wallet credits, Airpods, Apple watches and Nintendo Switches.

Only undergraduate students, ITE, Polytechnic, University and NSF concessionary groups are eligible for the lucky draw.

The lucky draw consists of three qualifying periods, namely from Sep 12 to Oct 15, Oct 16 to Nov 15 and Nov 15 to Dec 15. Participants are automatically registered when they register for an EZ-Link app account and link their SimplyGo concession cards to it.

You may like these