Photo credit: SNOC/WEE TECK HIAN

Tan Chuan-Jin re-elected as president of the Singapore National Olympic Council

This will be his third term as the president of the SNOC.

Ernest Cheng

Has an unhealthy obsession with iced lemon tea.

Published: 9 September 2022, 5:57 PM

Mr Tan Chuan-Jin was re-elected unanimously as the president of the Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) on Thursday (Sep 8). 

The decision was made during the council’s annual general meeting at Paradox Singapore Merchant Court. It was the first annual general meeting held in person after two virtual editions due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

This will be Mr Tan’s third term as president, having first assumed the role in 2014. He is also serving as the Speaker of Parliament and a Member of Parliament of Marine Parade GRC.

Ex-Singapore sailor Mr Benedict Tan was re-elected as vice president and will serve a fresh four-year term till 2026.

Former National Sport Association representative Mr Lawrence Low will also return to the SNOC in a vice president capacity.

They will join two other vice presidents, ex-bowling president Mrs Jessie Phua and fencing chief Ms Juilana Seow, who were previously elected in 2020.

Former Singapore shooter and three-time Olympian Mr Lee Wung Yew was also elected to serve a one-year term as Treasurer.

National bowler Shayna Ng was appointed to chair the 2022-2025 SNOC Athletes’ Commission, which comprises of nine other elected members – Muhamad Ridhwan Bin Ahmad (Boxing), Jonathan Chan Fan Keng (Diving), Stephenie Chen Jiexian (Canoeing), Theresa Goh Rui Si (Para-swimming), Mr Kampton Kam (Athletics), Ms Constance Lien (Jiu-jitsu), Dipna Lim Prasad (Athletics), Terry Tay Wei An (Gymnastics), Martina Lindsay Veloso (Shooting).

The members of the committee were voted in by the athletes who participated in the Hanoi 2021 SEA Games.

You may like these