SUSS, SIT added into MOE’s START scheme to nurture talents in research

The scheme will provide scholarships for teaching or research talents to further their studies at local or overseas universities before starting their career in Singapore.

Fitri Mahad

Probably the only person that likes to hear the koels go ‘uwu’.

Published: 15 September 2022, 3:38 PM

The Singapore University of Social Sciences (SUSS) and Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT) are now included in the Singapore Teaching and Academic Research Talent Scheme (START). 

This addition, announced by the Ministry of Education (MOE) on Wednesday (Sep 14), was done as part of the 8th START Award Ceremony held on the same day. 

The scheme allows those interested in the academic field to apply for scholarships, awards and grants for applicants in their pursuit of an academic career in local Autonomous Universities (AU). 

Successful recipients will first further their studies at local or overseas institutions before pursuing their research and teaching careers in Singapore.

Under START, one can choose to apply for the following: the Ministry of Education – Autonomous University (MOE-AU) Scholarship, Overseas PhD Scholarship, Overseas Post-Doctoral Fellowship, Early Career Awards, and the Inauguration Grant.

The MOE-AU Scholarship provides support at the undergraduate level, to help prepare recipients for future academic careers.

The Overseas PhD Scholarship supports Singaporeans who have been accepted for doctoral training at a leading overseas/local academic/research institution. 

The Post-Doctoral Fellowship supports Singaporeans who have just been conferred a doctoral degree and have been accepted for postdoctoral training at a leading overseas/local academic/research institution.

The Early Career Award supports Singaporeans who have completed their PhD and/or post-doctoral training, but have yet to be appointed to the tenure track in the Singapore AUs. 

The Inauguration Grant aims to attract Singaporean academics to join the AUs as pretenure Assistant Professors. 

SUSS and SIT join the other four AUs already under the scheme – Nanyang Technological University, National University of Singapore, Singapore Management University and Singapore University of Technology and Design.

You may like these