Singapore Premier League 2021 season to start on Mar 13

Just eight teams will participate in the SPL this season, as Brunei DPMM are unable to participate.

Nigel Chin

Started writing for the passion. Now writing because it’s the only thing I can do.

Published: 23 February 2021, 5:30 PM

The Singapore Premier League (SPL) 2021 season will start on Mar 13, the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) announced on Tuesday (Feb 23). 

Eight teams – Albirex Niigata (S), Lion City Sailors, Tampines Rovers, Hougang United, Balestier Khalsa, Young Lions, Geylang International and Tanjong Pagar United – will participate in the league. 

Brunei DPMM, winners of the SPL in 2015 and 2019, were forced to withdraw their participation due to COVID-19 travel restrictions in Brunei. DPMM had sat out of the 2020 season because of the pandemic. 

All eight teams will play each other thrice in the league. Over 90 matches have been scheduled, including the 2021 Singapore Cup, which will commence in September. 

The 2021 Community Shield, which will be contested between 2020 champions Albirex and 2020 runners-up Tampines, will be played on Jun 19 instead. 

Matches will be played behind closed doors for now, in light of the COVID-19 situation. The FAS said they will review this in consultation with the relevant authorities as the season progresses. 

All matches will be broadcast on Singtel TV and StarHub TV. It will also be streamed online via the SPL Facebook page and YouTube channel.


🤩 Which opening game 𝙚𝙭𝙘𝙞𝙩𝙚𝙨 you most? #SPL #GameOn 𝗙𝗨𝗟𝗟 2021 schedule ➡️

Posted by AIA Singapore Premier League on Tuesday, 23 February 2021

Change in home venues 

Balestier and Lion City Sailors will have their home venue reallocated for the 2021 season. 

Last season, the clubs played their ‘home’ games at the Bishan Stadium, which is currently in the process of being re-turfed. 

As such, the Sailors will share the Jalan Besar Stadium with the Young Lions this season, while Balestier will return to their traditional homeground at Toa Payoh Stadium. 

For the full list of SPL fixtures, click here

You may like these