Singapore men’s U19 football squad for AFF Boys Championship announced

Eight out of the 26 players represent Young Lions at club level.

Ernest Cheng

Has an unhealthy obsession with iced lemon tea.

Published: 30 June 2022, 2:54 PM

Twenty-six players have been called up to the final Singapore men’s under-19 national football team’s squad for the upcoming ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) Boys Championships 2022. 

The tournament will be held in Jakarta, Indonesia from Saturday (Jul 2) till Jul 15. Singapore were drawn into Group B, alongside Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia and Timor Leste. 

Among the 26 players, eight hail from Singapore Premier League side Young Lions. This includes forward Khairin Nadim, who featured in all four games during the recent 31st Southeast Asian Games in Vietnam.

Lion City Sailors’ (LCS) under-21 team is the next most represented with seven players, followed by their under-18 team Mattar Sailors with four players.

Two players from Albirex Niigata were also selected, along with one each from Hougang United, Tanjong Pagar United, Balestier Khalsa, Geylang International and Tampines Rovers. 

Most of the players will depart for Indonesia on Jun 30 with the exception of Tampines forward Muhamad Ali Manaf and Hougang goalkeeper Aizil Yazid, who will join the team on Jul 2 after their respective clubs’ Asian Football Confederation Cup (AFC) campaigns. 

The provisional under-19 squad had linked up for a training camp from May 30 to Jun 14, as well as centralised training from Jun 20 before the final squad selection was made, said the Football Association of Singapore. The team will be led by head coach Fadzuhasny Juraimi. 

The full squad list is as follows: 

Goalkeepers: Aizil Yazid (Hougang United), Firman Faizal (Mattar Sailors FC), Karan Sobti (Tanjong Pagar United), Rauf Erwan (Young Lions)

Defenders: Aqil Yazid (Balestier Khalsa FC), Aniq Raushan (Lion City Sailors U21), Danial Crichton (Young Lions), Fairuz Fazli (Young Lions), Farid Jafri (Mattar Sailors FC), Junki Yoshimura (Albirex Niigata), Kieran Teo (Geylang International), Raoul Suhaimi (Young Lions), Syafi Hilman (Lion City Sailors U21)

Midfielders: Amir Rashid (Young Lions), Asis Ijilral (Mattar Sailors FC), Glenn Ong (Lion City Sailors U21), Hilman Norisham (Albirex Niigata), Izafil Yusof (Mattar Sailors FC), Ryu Hardy (Young Lions)

Forwards: Ali Manaf (Tampines Rovers), Ilyasin Zayan (Lion City Sailors U21), Irfan Iskandar (Young Lions), Khairin Nadim (Young Lions), Kieran Aryan (Lion City Sailors U21), Sham Mohamed (Lion City Sailors U21), Zakaria Syari (Lion City Sailors U21)

You may like these