Singapore GE2020: Where are the candidates contesting?

The Singapore General Election 2020 is gearing up to be an exciting one, with two three-cornered fights taking place.

Nigel Chin

Started writing for the passion. Now writing because it’s the only thing I can do.

Published: 30 June 2020, 12:24 PM

Nomination papers have been filed on Tuesday (Jun 30) and Singapore is officially into campaigning season.

There are no walkovers in the Singapore General Election 2020, with all 93 seats contested.

There will be two three-cornered fights in this year’s elections.

The Pioneer SMC will be contested by the People’s Action Party (PAP), the Progress Singapore Party and an independent candidate. On the other hand, the Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC will see incumbent PAP go up against People’s Voice and Singapore Democractic Alliance.

It is the first time there is a three-cornered fight in a GRC since the 1992 General Election.

All eyes will also be on West Coast GRC, where two full ministers – S Iswaran and Desmond Lee will be part of the PAP team going against opposition PSP, led by former Member of Parliament Tan Cheng Bock.

PSP’s Lee Hsien Yang, brother of Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, will not be running for elections.

Over the next 10 days, all candidates will be campaigning for voters to elect them, until Singapore goes to the polls on Jul 10.
Here’s the full list of all candidates in the Singapore General Election 2020:
Which parties are contesting in your GRCs and SMCs?

Here's a summary of the political parties contesting in #GE2020 this year!

Posted by Youth.SG on Tuesday, 30 June 2020

Aljunied GRC 

Workers’ Party: Pritam Singh, Sylvia Lim, Faisal Manap, Leon Perera, Gerald Giam.
People’s Action Party: Victor Lye, Alex Yeo, Chan Hui Yuh, Chua Eng Leong, Shamsul Kamar


Ang Mo Kio GRC

People’s Action Party: Lee Hsien Loong, Gan Thiam Poh, Darryl David, Ng Ling Ling, Nadia Ahmad Samdin
Reform Party: Kenneth Jeyaretnam, Andy Zhu, Noraini Yunus, Charles Yeo, Darren Soh


Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC

People’s Action Party: Ng Eng Hen, Chee Hong Tat, Saktiandi Supaat, Chong Kee Hiong
Singapore People’s Party: Steve Chia, Williamson Lee, Osman Sulaiman, Melvyn Chiu


Choa Chu Kang GRC

People’s Action Party: Gan Kim Yong, Low Yen Ling, Don Wee, Zhulkarnain Abdul Rahim
Progress Singapore Party: Francis Yuen, Tan Meng Wah, Choo Shaun Ming, Abdul Rahmad Mohamad


East Coast GRC 

People’s Action Party: Heng Swee Keat,, Maliki Osman, Tan Kiat How, Cheryl Chan and Jessica Tan
Worker’s Party: Kenneth Foo Seck Guan, Abdul Shariff Aboo Kassim, Terence Tan, Dylan Ng, Nicole Seah


Holland-Bukit Timah GRC

People’s Action Party: Vivian Balakrishnan, Sim Ann, Christopher de Souza, Edward Chia
Singapore Democratic Party: James Gomez, Min Cheong, Alfred Tan, Tan Jee Say


Jalan Besar GRC

People’s Action Party: Josephine Teo, Denise Phua, Heng Chee How and Wan Rizal Wan Zakariah.
Peoples Voice: Lim Tean, Leong Sze Hian, Nor Azlan Sulaiman and Michael Fang Amin


Jurong GRC 

People’s Action Party: Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Tan Wu Meng, Rahayu Mahzam, Shawn Huang, Xie Yao Quan
Red Dot United: Ravi Philemon, Liyana Dhamirah, Michelle Lee, Nicholas Tang, Alec Tok


Marine Parade GRC

People’s Action Party: Tan Chuan-Jin, Seah Kian Peng, Edwin Tong, Tan See Leng, Fahmi Aliman
Workers’ Party: Ron Tan, Yee Jenn Jong, Fadli Fawzi, Azhar Latip, Nathaniel Koh


Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC 

People’s Action Party: Lawrence Wong, Zaqy Mohamad, Alex Yam, Hany Soh
Singapore Democratic Party: Bryan Lim, Damanhuri Abas, Benjamin Pwee, Khung Wai Yeen


Nee Soon GRC

People’s Action Party: Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam, Faishal Ibrahim, Louis Ng, Carrie Tan, Derrick Goh
Progress Singapore Party: Damien Tay, Taufik Supan, Kala Manickam, S Nallakaruppan, and Brad Bowyer


Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC

People’s Action Party: Senior Minister Teo Chee Hean, Dr Janil Puthucheary, Desmond Tan, Yeo Wan Ling, Sharael Taha
Peoples Voice: Jireh Lim, Prabu Ramachandran, Mohamed Nassir Ismail, Gilbert Goh, Vigneswari Ramachandran
Singapore Democratic Alliance: Desmond Lim, Harminder Pal Singh, Abu Mohamed, Kelvin Ong, Kuswadi Atnawi


Sembawang GRC 

People’s Action Party: Ong Ye Kung, Lim Kwee Kiak, Vikram Nair, Maryam Jaafar, Poh Li San
National Solidarity Party: Spencer Ng, Ivan Yeo Tiong Boon, Sebastian Teo, Yadzeth Haris and Sathin Ravindran


Sengkang GRC

People’s Action Party: Ng Chee Meng, Lam Pin Min, Amrin Amin, Raymond Lye
Workers’ Party: He Ting Ru, Louis Chua, Jamus Lim, Raeesah Khan


Tanjong Pagar GRC 

People’s Action Party: Eric Chua, Joan Pereira, Chan Chun Sing, Indranee Rajah, Alvin Tan
Progress Singapore Party: Michael Chua, Abas Kasmani, Wendy Low, Terence Soon, Harish Pillay


Tampines GRC 
People’s Action Party: Minister for Water and Environment Resources Masagos Zulkifli, Desmond Choo, Baey Yam Keng, Cheng Li Hui
National Solidarity Party: Reno Fong, Mohd Ridzwan Mohammad, Yeo Ren-Yuan, Choong Hon Heng, Vincent Ng


West Coast GRC

People’s Action Party: S Iswaran, Desmond Lee, Ang Wei Neng, Rachel Ong,Foo Mee Har
Progress Singapore Party: Tan Cheng Bock, Hazel Poa, Leong Wai Mun, Jeffrey Khoo, Nadarajah Loganathan

Safety Measures to take note for General Elections 2020

Let us all observe these safety measures in the upcoming General Election to keep us safe while voting! #GE2020 #SGUnited

Posted by Youth.SG on Tuesday, 23 June 2020

MacPherson SMC 

People’s Action Party: Tin Pei Ling
People’s Power Party: Goh Meng Seng

Marymount SMC 

People’s Action Party: Gan Siow Huang
Progress Singapore Party: Ang Yong Guan

Bukit Batok SMC 

People’s Action Party: Murali Pillai
Singapore Democratic Party: Chee Soon Juan

Pioneer SMC

People’s Action Party: Patrick Tay
Progress Singapore Party: Lim Cher Hong
Independent candidate: Cheang Peng Wah

Bukit Panjang SMC

People’s Action Party: Liang Eng Hwa
Singapore Democractic Party: Paul Tambyah

Punggol West SMC

People’s Action Party: Sun Xueling
Worker’s Party: Tan Chen Chen

Yio Chu Kang SMC

People’s Action Party: Yip Hon Weng
Progress Singapore Party: Kayla Low

Hougang SMC

Workers’ Party: Dennis Tan
People’s Action Party: Lee Hong Chuang

Yuhua SMC

People’s Action Party: Grace Fu
Singapore Democratic Party: Robin Low

Kebun Baru SMC

People’s Action Party: Henry Kwek
Progress Singapore Party: Kumaran Pillai

Potong Pasir SMC

People’s Action Party: Sitoh Yin Pin
Singapore People’s Party: Jose Raymond

Hong Kah SMC

People’s Action Party: Amy Khor
Progress Singapore Party: Gigene Wong

Mountbatten SMC

People’s Action Party: Lim Biow Chuan
Peoples Voice: Sivakumaran Chellappa

Radin Mas SMC

People’s Action Party: Melvin Yong
Reform Party: Kumar Appavoo

You may like these