Singapore GE2020: PAP forms government with 83 seats, WP takes 10 seats

PAP retains their super majority in parliament, while WP manages to win two GRCs and one SMC.

Nigel Chin

Started writing for the passion. Now writing because it’s the only thing I can do.

Published: 11 July 2020, 7:23 AM

The ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) will form the government again, winning 83 of the 93 seats available, retaining the super majority in parliament.

In terms of overall vote share, the PAP won 61.24 per cent in 2020, a drop from the 69.86 per cent it had garnered in the 2015 elections.

The remaining 10 seats were taken by the Workers’ Party, which won the Aljunied GRC, Hougang SMC and the newly-formed Sengkang GRC.

Meanwhile, the Progress Singapore Party, which fielded the most number of candidates among all 10 opposition parties, failed to win any seats. However, they will be able to take up one Non-constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP) seat after narrowly losing the West Coast GRC to PAP.

The other NCMP seat will be offered to the losing Workers’ Party team from the East Coast GRC.

Here’s a roundup of the results:

Aljunied GRC - WP

Workers’ Party: Pritam Singh, Sylvia Lim, Faisal Manap, Leon Perera, Gerald Giam (59.93%)
People’s Action Party: Victor Lye, Alex Yeo, Chan Hui Yuh, Chua Eng Leong, Shamsul Kamar (40.07%)

Ang Mo Kio GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Lee Hsien Loong, Gan Thiam Poh, Darryl David, Ng Ling Ling, Nadia Ahmad Samdin (71.91%)

Reform Party: Kenneth Jeyaretnam, Andy Zhu, Noraini Yunus, Charles Yeo, Darren Soh (28.09%)


Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Ng Eng Hen, Chee Hong Tat, Saktiandi Supaat, Chong Kee Hiong (67.26%)
Singapore People’s Party: Steve Chia, Williamson Lee, Osman Sulaiman, Melvyn Chiu (32.74%)

Choa Chu Kang GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Gan Kim Yong, Low Yen Ling, Don Wee, Zhulkarnain Abdul Rahim (58.64%)
Progress Singapore Party: Francis Yuen, Tan Meng Wah, Choo Shaun Ming, Abdul Rahmad Mohamad (41.36%)

East Coast GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Heng Swee Keat, Maliki Osman, Tan Kiat How, Cheryl Chan and Jessica Tan (53.41%)
Workers’ Party: Kenneth Foo Seck Guan, Abdul Shariff Aboo Kassim, Terence Tan, Dylan Ng, Nicole Seah (46.59%)

Holland-Bukit Timah GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Vivian Balakrishnan, Sim Ann, Christopher de Souza, Edward Chia (66.36%)
Singapore Democratic Party: James Gomez, Min Cheong, Alfred Tan, Tan Jee Say (33.64%)

Jalan Besar GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Josephine Teo, Denise Phua, Heng Chee How and Wan Rizal Wan Zakariah (65.37%)
Peoples Voice: Lim Tean, Leong Sze Hian, Nor Azlan Sulaiman and Michael Fang Amin (34.63%)

Jurong GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Tan Wu Meng, Rahayu Mahzam, Shawn Huang, Xie Yao Quan (74.62%)
Red Dot United: Ravi Philemon, Liyana Dhamirah, Michelle Lee, Nicholas Tang, Alec Tok (25.38%)

Marine Parade GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Tan Chuan-Jin, Seah Kian Peng, Edwin Tong, Tan See Leng, Fahmi Aliman (57.76%)
Workers’ Party: Ron Tan, Yee Jenn Jong, Fadli Fawzi, Azhar Latip, Nathaniel Koh (42.24%)

Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Lawrence Wong, Zaqy Mohamad, Alex Yam, Hany Soh (63.18%)
Singapore Democratic Party: Bryan Lim, Damanhuri Abas, Benjamin Pwee, Khung Wai Yeen (36.82%)

Nee Soon GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: K Shanmugam, Faishal Ibrahim, Louis Ng, Carrie Tan, Derrick Goh (61.9%)
Progress Singapore Party: Damien Tay, Taufik Supan, Kala Manickam, S Nallakaruppan, Brad Bowyer (38.1%)

Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Teo Chee Hean, Dr Janil Puthucheary, Desmond Tan, Yeo Wan Ling, Sharael Taha (64.15%)
Peoples Voice: Jireh Lim, Prabu Ramachandran, Mohamed Nassir Ismail, Gilbert Goh, Vigneswari Ramachandran (12.18%)
Singapore Democratic Alliance: Desmond Lim, Harminder Pal Singh, Abu Mohamed, Kelvin Ong, Kuswadi Atnawi (23.67%)

Sembawang GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Ong Ye Kung, Lim Kwee Kiak, Vikram Nair, Maryam Jaafar, Poh Li San (67.29%)
National Solidarity Party: Spencer Ng, Ivan Yeo Tiong Boon, Sebastian Teo, Yadzeth Haris and Sathin Ravindran (32.71%)

Sengkang GRC - WP

People’s Action Party: Ng Chee Meng, Lam Pin Min, Amrin Amin, Raymond Lye (47.87%)
Workers’ Party: He Ting Ru, Louis Chua, Jamus Lim, Raeesah Khan (52.13%)

Tanjong Pagar GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Eric Chua, Joan Pereira, Chan Chun Sing, Indranee Rajah, Alvin Tan (63.13%)

Progress Singapore Party: Michael Chua, Abas Kasmani, Wendy Low, Terence Soon, Harish Pillay (36.87%)

Tampines GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Masagos Zulkifli, Desmond Choo, Baey Yam Keng, Cheng Li Hui (66.41%)
National Solidarity Party: Reno Fong, Mohd Ridzwan Mohammad, Yeo Ren-Yuan, Choong Hon Heng, Vincent Ng (33.59%)

West Coast GRC - PAP

People’s Action Party: S Iswaran, Desmond Lee, Ang Wei Neng, Rachel Ong, Foo Mee Har (51.69%)
Progress Singapore Party: Tan Cheng Bock, Hazel Poa, Leong Wai Mun, Jeffrey Khoo, Nadarajah Loganathan (48.31%)

Bukit Batok SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Murali Pillai (54.8%)
Singapore Democratic Party: Chee Soon Juan (45.2%)

Bukit Panjang SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Liang Eng Hwa (53.74%)
Singapore Democractic Party: Paul Tambyah (46.26%)

Hong Kah North SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Amy Khor (60.98%)
Progress Singapore Party: Gigene Wong (39.02%)

Hougang SMC - WP

Workers’ Party: Dennis Tan (61.19%)
People’s Action Party: Lee Hong Chuang (38.81%)

Kebun Baru SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Henry Kwek (62.97%)
Progress Singapore Party: Kumaran Pillai (37.03%)

MacPherson SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Tin Pei Ling (71.74%)
People’s Power Party: Goh Meng Seng (28.26%)

Marymount SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Gan Siow Huang (55.04%)
Progress Singapore Party: Ang Yong Guan (44.96%)

Mountbatten SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Lim Biow Chuan (73.84%)
Peoples Voice: Sivakumaran Chellappa (32.74%)

Pioneer SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Patrick Tay (61.98%)
Progress Singapore Party: Lim Cher Hong (35.24%)
Independent candidate: Cheang Peng Wah (2.78%)

Potong Pasir SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Sitoh Yin Pin (60.69%)
Singapore People’s Party: Jose Raymond (39.31%)

Punggol West SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Sun Xueling (60.97%)

Workers’ Party: Tan Chen Chen (39.03%)

Radin Mas SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Melvin Yong (74.03%)
Reform Party: Kumar Appavoo (25.97%)

Yio Chu Kang SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Yip Hon Weng (60.83%)
Progress Singapore Party: Kayla Low (39.17%)

Yuhua SMC - PAP

People’s Action Party: Grace Fu (70.54%)
Singapore Democratic Party: Robin Low (29.46%)

You may like these