Singapore Football League to kick off on Jun 4, 1st edition under new name

Previously known as the National Football League, the competition was renamed the SFL in 2020 but was put on hold for two years due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Muhd Zahin Ilmi

Sports enthusiast and expert overthinker.

Published: 2 June 2022, 11:49 AM

The National Football League makes its return after a two-year hiatus this weekend under a new name, the Singapore Football League (SFL).

The competition had been renamed to the SFL in 2020 but was put on hold until this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The 2022 season will be the first edition of the SFL.

The SFL is split into two divisions, with SFL Division 1 commencing on Saturday (Jun 4) and SFL Division 2 starting the following day.

The SFL will adopt a round-robin format which will span from June to October, with eight and 10 teams participating in Division 1 and Division 2 respectively.

Teams in Division 1 include GFA Sporting Westlake, Katong FC, Mattar Sailors FC, Singapore Khalsa Association, Warwick Knights FC, Yishun Sentek Mariners, newly promoted Project Vaults Oxley and 2019 champions Tiong Bahru FC.

Three teams from the 2019 Division 1 season – Police SA, Balestier United RC and Eunos Crescent FC – were relegated and will compete in Division 2 for the upcoming season.

The seven other teams competing in Division 2 are: Admiralty CSN, Bishan Barx FC, Commonwealth Cosmos FC, Jungfrau Punggol FC, Singapore Cricket Club, South Avenue SC, Starlight Soccerites FC.

Division 1 matches will be played at Choa Chu Kang Stadium, Clementi Stadium, Jalan Besar Stadium, Hougang Stadium and Toa Payoh Stadium, while Division 2 matches will be played at Bedok Stadium, Choa Chu Kang Stadium and Woodlands Stadium.

Admission to the matches for both divisions are free. The full list of fixtures can be found here for Division 1 and here for Division 2.

At the end of the season, the bottom two Division 1 teams will be relegated to Division 2 while the bottom two Division 2 teams will be relegated to the Island Wide League (IWL).

On the other hand, the top two teams in Division 2 and the IWL will be promoted to Division 1 and Division 2 respectively.

The IWL will commence later this year, with more details to be announced in due time. 

You may like these