Open Menu
Open Menu

Photo credit: COTTONBRO VIA PEXELS

Netflix introduces new feature to combat password sharing across different households

Will this new password verification feature be a boon or a bane?

Shannon Kuan
Shannon Kuan

Weird talents include playing the violin, but with a ukulele and a clothes hanger.


Published: 15 March 2021, 4:36 PM

In order to tighten security measures, Netflix is trying to curb password sharing by asking users to verify that they live in the same household as the account owner, announced a Netflix spokesperson on Mar 11.

Netflix’s terms of service state that “any content viewed through the service are for your personal and non-commercial use only and may not be shared with individuals beyond your household”.

Some Netflix users worldwide have already been receiving messages saying “If you don’t live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching”, and then asking them to input a code sent to the owner’s email or phone.

 

The Two-Factor Authentication can be delayed upon clicking ‘Verify Later’, and users can continue watching Netflix until the message reappears. PHOTO CREDIT: TWITTER/@DOP3SWEET

 

If users fail to verify themselves within a certain period of time however, they will be kicked out of the shared account and be asked to create their own account instead.

Of course, friends from different households who share one Netflix account can always ask the account owner to simply send the verification code over.

While some may think this measure is unnecessary and a burden, the verification feature is designed to help ensure the people using Netflix accounts are authorised to do so by the original owner.

For example, in the case of someone gaining an account password through fraudulent methods, they will no longer be able to gain access.

This new feature is not specific to any country or time frame and it is unclear if it will be implemented across every Netflix account any time soon.


You may like these

Top 10 Reads