Lion City Sailors duo Saifullah Akbar and Gabriel Quak bag top honours at FAS Awards Night 2020

Gabriel Quak was named the Singapore Premier League 2020 Player of the Year, while Saifullah Akbar was named Young Player of the Year.

Phoon Jia Hui

Jack of all trades, master of drinking boba milk tea.

Published: 7 December 2020, 7:34 PM

Lion City Sailors’ Gabriel Quak and Saifullah Akbar bagged the top awards at the annual FAS Awards Night on Monday (Dec 7) evening. 

Forward Gabriel picked up the Player of the Year accolade, pipping team-mate Stipe Plazibat and Albirex Niigata’s Tomoyuki Doi to the main prize. 

With five goals to his name, Gabriel ended the season as the top local goalscorer in the Singapore Premier League (SPL). He also notched seven assists as he guided the Sailors to a third-placed finish.  

It is the second consecutive year a local player has won the award, after Faris Ramli won the award last year. 


Quak credits his strong family support for his form on the pitch. PHOTO CREDIT: GABRIEL QUAK


Speaking to Youthopia after receiving his award, Gabriel said: “I just have one word to say, family. This year has taught me to go back to the basics. To love the game I dreamt of and that nothing else matters except family. So to win this individual award? I say thank you to my family because to me, family is my parents, sister, wife, daughters, friends, LCS’ backroom staff and players, even club chairman Forrest Li.

“Because to me, these are my family members. With them, I can do anything. Without them, I am nothing. Let’s bring it (the SPL title) home in 2021.”

Midfielder Saifullah was named the Young Player of the Year award, ahead of Geylang International’s Harith Kanadi and Jacob Mahler of the Young Lions

The award caps off an excellent season for the promising 21-year-old playmaker, who scored two goals in 11 games for his side. 

“It’s an amazing feeling to win this award,” said Saifullah at the awards ceremony.

“I didn’t see this coming so I’m grateful and blessed. I’d like to thank my family for supporting me and I wouldn’t have gotten this award without my team-mates and coaches.

“To me, I’ve progressed quite a bit especially under coach Aurelio Vidmar, who’s given me the chance to perform. I hope this is a good boost for my career and I’m looking forward to next season already.”


Albirex’s Keiji Shigetomi was named Coach of the Year after leading the Japanese side to the SPL title, while Geylang International’s Khairul Nizam picked up the Goal of the Year award for his stunning halfway line strike against Tampines Rovers on Nov 7. 

The Referee of the Year award went to Ahmad A’Qashah, while Ronnie Koh took home the Assistant Referee of the Year award.

Syazwan Buhari, Daniel Bennett, Kaishu Yamazaki, Kazuki Hashioka, Tajeli Salamat, Gabriel, Kristijan Krajcek, Kyoga Nakamura, Song Uiyoung, Luiz Junior and Stipe Plazibat were all named in the Team of the Year.

Tampines Rovers forward Jordan Webb was recognised for scoring his 100th goal in the Singapore Premier League this season.

There was also a special recognition award for Singapore National Team captain Hariss Harun, who has amassed 100 caps for the Lions, for his contributions to local football.

The awards ceremony was held at The Gym, Jalan Besar In light of the current safe distancing measures. It was attended only by relevant personnel, such as award winners, presenters and essential event crew.

You may like these