Lion City Sailors claim first Singapore Premier League title

The Sailors become the first local club to clinch the domestic league title in seven years.

Brandon Leong

Compulsive playlist maker.

Published: 10 October 2021, 7:58 PM

Lion City Sailors became the first local team to clinch the domestic league title in seven years, after defeating Balestier Khalsa 4-1 on Sunday (Oct 10). Going into the final matchday, LCS were tied on 45 points with defending champions Albirex Niigata (S), but held the advantage thanks to their superior goal difference. 

Albirex had to better Sailors’ result against Balestier to retain their title but their efforts were in vain as they failed to beat Tanjong Pagar United at Jurong East Stadium, with the match ending 4-4.

At the Jalan Besar Stadium, goals from Song Uiyoung, Gabriel Quak and Diego Lopes settled the title race. The Sailors, however, were made to sweat at some parts of the game after Hariss Harun went off injured.

The Sailors are the first local club to lift the league trophy since 2014, when Warriors FC pipped Bruneian side DPMM FC to the title. It is also their maiden Singapore Premier League (SPL) trophy after its inception.

Their season was marked by impressive performances spearheaded by SPL Player of the Year nominees Jorge Felipe and Stipe Plazibat and Singapore internationals Gabriel Quak, Hassan Sunny and Faris Ramli.   

As winner of the SPL, LCS will receive $150,000, while runners-up Albirex Niigata FC (S) and third-placed Hougang United get $80,000 and $40,000 respectively. 

You may like these