From BLACKPINK to NCT127, here are some upcoming K-pop idol group comebacks to look forward to

Which group’s comeback are you anticipating the most?

Esther Lam

Published: 15 May 2020, 4:43 PM

After several concert cancellations, postponed tours and delayed comebacks due to COVID-19, K-pop fans across the globe were left hanging dry and disappointed.

But with the situation in South Korea improving, several groups have begun gearing up for their summer comebacks. Here are five upcoming k-pop idol group comebacks you can look forward to this summer, including BlackPink and NCT 127!


BLACKPINK’s cover photo for their ‘Kill This Love’ comeback in April 2019. PHOTO CREDIT: FACEBOOK/BLACKPINK

On May 4, YG Entertainment announced that there would be a BLACKPINK comeback around early or mid-June.

Aside from their recent collaboration with Lady Gaga, the superstar girl group has been musically inactive for a while.

It’s been over a year since we last heard from the talented quartet, when they released their ‘Kill This Love’ album, so needless to say, Blinks (as BLACKPINK fans are affectionately known) are ecstatic.

While not many details about the comeback have been released yet, the girls have finished recording the album and are currently preparing for their music video filming.

2. TWICE (June 1)

Twice has been busy with their promotions in Japan and will finally be making a Korean comeback soon. PHOTO CREDIT: FACEBOOK/TWICE

Another powerhouse girl group coming back this summer is Twice! The girl group is returning with their ninth mini-album and its title track ‘More & More’.

They are currently in the final stages of preparation for the comeback and will soon wrap up their music video filming.

From their Japanese repackage album &Twice, released on Feb 5, to YouTube documentary series titled Seize the Light featuring their 2019 World Tour highlights, it seems as though ONCEs (fans of Twice) are in for a treat this year.

3. Monsta X (May 26)

All six Monsta X members will be returning with a new mini-album. PHOTO CREDIT: FACEBOOK/MONSTA X

Joining the summer comeback lineup is Monsta X with their seven-track mini-album titled FANTASIA X, which is slated for release on May 26! It was initially scheduled for May 11 but was postponed due to Shownu’s back injury.

The group’s rapper-songwriter Jooheony is also expected to return after his temporary hiatus for health reasons, making this a full six-member comeback!

The group released six concept trailers between Apr 19 and Apr 25, teasing the mini-album’s tracklist. The song titles are ‘Flow‘, ‘Zone‘, ‘Chaotic‘, ‘Beautiful Night‘, ‘It Ain’t Over‘, ‘Stand Up’ and the title track ‘Fantasia’.

This will be the group’s eighth mini-album. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t pumped for their return!

4. NCT 127 (May 19)

NCT 127 are set to return with a repackaged album after sweeping the charts with ‘Kick It’. PHOTO CREDIT: FACEBOOK/NCT 127

Releasing their second repackaged album titled NCT #127 Neo Zone: The Final Round on May 19 at 5pm (SGT) are the multi-talented boys of NCT 127.

In addition to the full length album NCT #127 Neo Zone’s 13 tracks, the latest release includes three new b-side tracks titled ‘Nonstop’, ‘Make Your Day’ as well as ‘序曲’ (Prelude) – the intro to their previous album’s lead track ‘Kick It’.

SM Entertainment released two album teasers last week titled ‘Warm Up 1st player’ and ‘Warm Up 2nd player’ as well as teasers for the new songs on May 10 and May 13. Fans are expecting this comeback to be a successful one.

5. Tomorrow X Together (May 19)

TXT on the set of their concept trailer. PHOTO CREDIT: FACEBOOK/TXT

ig Hit Entertainment’s rising rookie boy group, Tomorrow X Together (TXT), is coming back on May 19 at 5pm (SGT) with The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY. The mini-album comprises six tracks with intriguing titles.

The lead single ‘Can’t You See Me?’ is the second track on the EP, which includes ‘Drama’, ‘Fairy of Shampoo’, ‘Maze in the Mirror’, ‘PUMA’, and ‘Eternally’.

TXT is coming back with a new album titled The Dream Chapter; Eternity. PHOTO CREDIT: BIG HIT ENTERTAINMENT

Here’s a fun fact: ‘Fairy of Shampoo’ is a remake of the song ‘Light and Salt’, with member Yeonjun partaking in the track’s rap. It is the first time the group is doing a song remake too.

The album’s concept trailer was released on Apr 28 and suggests that this comeback concept is likely a continuation of their previous release; The Dream Chapter: MAGIC in October 2019.

The group recently dropped two music video teasers for their title track ‘Can’t You See Me?’ on May 11 and May 12. They also released an album audio preview on May 15. Click here to check out their concept photos!

Excited yet? I know I am! You can mark the dates in your calendars and get your hearts ready for these groups’ spectacular return to the stage.

For more fun and exciting things to do, go to MehGoWhere.SG

You may like these