There will be 8 esports games featured at the 19th Asian Games in Hangzhou.

8 esports titles to be medalled events at 2022 Asian Games

Esports will make its competitive debut in the 2022 Asian Games in Hangzhou, with medals up for grabs.

Shane Dawson

No, I’m not that YouTuber

Published: 14 September 2021, 4:58 PM

Esports will make its competitive debut at the 19th Asian Games next year, with medals being awarded for all eight games, the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) announced. 

The eight esports titles are DOTA 2, FIFA, League of Legends, Arena of Valor, Dream of the Three Kingdoms 2, HearthStone and Street Fighter V.


Esports was previously a demonstration event in the 2018 Asian Games. PHOTO CREDIT: Unsplash


Three medals – gold, silver and bronze, will be up for grabs at all eight esports games. 

In 2018, esports made its maiden appearance at the Asian Games held in Jakarta as demonstration events. 

Six titles were showcased, including Arena of Valor, Clash Royale, Hearthstone, League of Legends, Pro Evolution Soccer and Starcraft 2.

Medals were awarded at the event, but not counted in the final medal tallies. 

You may like these