6 new Cross Island Line MRT stations to open by 2030

Construction is expected to begin in 2023.

Ernest Cheng

Has an unhealthy obsession with iced lemon tea.

Published: 21 September 2022, 2:35 PM

Six new stations under Phase 2 of the Cross Island Line (CRL) MRT, including Clementi, West Coast and Jurong Lake District, are slated to commence operations by 2030.

The Land Transport Authority announced in a statement on Tuesday (Sep 20) that construction for the second phase is expected to begin in 2023.

Spanning over 15km, the full list of underground stations under this phase includes Turf City, King Albert Park, Maju, Clementi, West Coast and Jurong Lake District. 

Two of the six stations will be interchange stations, with Clementi connecting to the East-West Line and King Albert Park connecting to the Downtown Line.

🎉We are pleased to announce the alignment and station locations of the Cross Island Line Phase 2 (#CRL2) 🚅 from Bright...

Posted by Land Transport Authority – We Keep Your World Moving on Tuesday, 20 September 2022

A total of 40,000 households that live within a 10-minute walk from one of these stations will benefit from this phase of the CRL.

The Cross Island Line is Singapore’s eighth and longest MRT line, covering over 50km of land. It will be constructed in three phases.

Phase 1 of the line was previously announced in 2019, which consists of 12 MRT stations from Aviation Park to Bright Hill. It also includes stations like Tampines North, Loyang and Ang Mo Kio.

Transport Minister S Iswaran said that CRL Phase 2 will strengthen the connectivity between the eastern, western and north-eastern parts of Singapore.

“By connecting key commuting corridors across Singapore, the Cross Island Line will help to redistribute passenger movement across rail lines, thereby improving the overall public transport experience,” he said.

You may like these