5 SPL players receive first call-ups to Singapore football squad for June friendlies

The Fandi brothers - Irfan, Ikhsan and Ilhan - all miss out as they are still recuperating from their injuries.

Seif Umar

Certified football, Formula One and teh tarik addict.

Published: 12 June 2023, 5:19 PM

Five Singapore Premier League (SPL) players have received their first call ups to the Singapore men’s football squad for the upcoming June friendlies

The five new players include Balestier Khalsa goalkeeper Khairul Syirhan, Hougang United defender Jordan Vestering, Young Lions midfielder Harhys Stewart and Tanjong Pagar United midfielders Fathullah Rahmat and Naqiuddin Eunos.

Head coach Takayuki Nishigaya explained that the five new players were chosen because they have “shown promise to be future national team players”.

“I want them to join us this week to gain the experience of being in a national environment and be exposed to the higher intensity in training and in the matches, raise their levels of technique and improve how they handle duels and contact on the international front,” he added.

Singapore will take on Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands on Jun 15 and 18 respectively. 

Lion City Sailors defender Lionel Tan has been selected once more. The defender had scored in his first two caps against Hong Kong and Macau in March.

The three senior Fandi brothers – Irfan, Ikhsan and Ilhan – are absent in the squad due to injuries. 

Coach Nishigaya also explained that the selection of players was based on the fact that the players from both Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands have “individual power and speed”. 

“We will need to be prepared to counter that. It is always beneficial for our team to be exposed to different styles of play and these two opponents will offer us a good test,” he said.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Hassan Sunny (Albirex Niigata), Syazwan Buhari (Tampines Rovers), Zharfan Rohaizad (Lion City Sailors), Khairul Syirhan (Balestier Khalsa)

Defenders: Amirul Adli (Geylang International), Jordan Vestering (Hougang United), Syakir Hamzah (Tanjong Pagar United), M Anumanthan, Lionel Tan (both Lion City Sailors), Irfan Najeeb, Glenn Kweh (both Tampines Rovers)

Midfielders: Ho Wai Loon (Balestier Khalsa), Zulfahmi Arifin (Hougang United), Shah Shahiran (Tampines Rovers), Harhys Stewart (Young Lions), Fathullah Rahmat, Naqiuddin Eunos (both Tanjong Pagar United), Adam Swandi, Hami Syahin, Harris Harun (all Lion City Sailors)

Forwards: Amy Recha (Hougang United),  Daniel Goh (Balestier Khalsa), Faris Ramli (Tampines Rovers), Hafiz Nor, Shawal Anuar (both Lion City Sailors) 

You may like these