23 players called up to S’pore U22 squad for U23 Asian Cup Qualifiers; Ryaan Sanizal misses out through injury

The team will take on Yemen, Guam and Vietnam in the qualifiers.

Farhana Subuhan

A punctuation enthusiast who thinks misplaced apostrophes are a crime.

Published: 4 September 2023, 2:52 PM

Twenty-three players were called up to the Singapore U22 squad for the 2024 Asian Cup Qualifiers, which will be held in Vietnam.

The final selection came after an “intense period of centralised training in Thailand”, said the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) in a press release.

“Coach Nazri (Nasir) has selected the 23 players that he hopes will do the nation proud in Hanoi, Vietnam. The players were assessed after a series of friendlies in Thailand, including an international friendly with the Thailand U-22 team”.

While the majority of the squad comprise players from the Young Lions, including Harhys Stewart, Jared Gallagher and Aizil Yazid, the likes of Lion City Sailors forward Abdul Rasaq, Balestier Khalsa goalkeeper Wayne Chew and Hougang United midfielder Ajay Robson were included too.

Young Lions duo Umayr Sujuady and Elijah Lim failed to make the cut from the provisional squad, while Tampines Rovers’ defender Ryaan Sanizal was forced out due to injury.

There will be one debutant in the squad. Muhammad Asis Ijilrali, who plays for the Sailors’ U21 team, is set to play in his first major tournament with the Singapore U22.

The 19-year-old said that wearing the national jersey and standing as a representative of Singapore is an honour, and the team “firmly believes in our abilities to execute the coach’s strategies effectively”.

“We are confident in giving a performance worthy of donning this jersey,” he added.

The team will take on Yemen on Sep 6, Guam on Sep 9 and conclude their group stage matches against host Vietnam on Sep 12.

The full squad list is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Wayne Chew (Balestier Khalsa), Muhammad Aizil Mohamed Yazid, Prathip Ekamparam (both Young Lions)

Defenders: Kieran Aryan Azhari, Bah Bill Abuzar Mamadou, Muhammad Nur Adam Abdullah (all Lion City Sailors), Kieran Teo Jia Jun, Muhammad Aqil Mohamed Yazid, Muhammad Fairuz Muhammad Fazli Koh, Mohamed Ilhan Mohamed Noor (all Young Lions), Jordan Efa Okwudili Emaviwe (Balestier Khalsa)

Midfielders: Harhys Rizal Gareth Stewart Muhammad Ian Stewart, Jared Sean Gallagher, Muhammad Farhan Zulkifli, Iman Hakim Ibrahim (all Young Lions), Ajay Robson R Muralithran (Hougang United), Azim Akbar (Tanjong Pagar United), Nur Muhammad Asis Ijilrali Junaidi (Lions City Sailors)

Forwards: Chua Zikos Vasileios Ming Xun, Syafi’ie Redzuan, Muhammad Syahadat Masnawi, Muhammad Haziq Kamarudin (all Young Lions), Abdul Rasaq Ishiekwene Akeem (Lion City Sailors)

You may like these