16 primary and secondary schools merging between 2023 and 2025, names finalised

Each merged school will dedicate a space to document the history and heritage of both merging schools, the Ministry of Education said.

Caleb Lau

Grew up a musician, found a calling in photography and writing. Still in love with all of them.

Published: 7 April 2022, 12:04 PM

In the next three years, three pairs of primary schools and five pairs of secondary schools will be merging, the Ministry of Education (MOE) said in a press release on Wednesday (Apr 6).

Carried out in response to falling birth rates and changing demographics in housing estates, the mergers will ensure that schools have adequate numbers of students for a vibrant learning experience, consisting of a good range of educational programmes and co-curricular activities.

Schools slated to merge in the coming years include Eunos Primary School and Telok Kurau Primary School, which will retain the Telok Kurau name and building. Other schools mentioned are Chua Chu Kang Secondary and Teck Whye Secondary, which will retain the Chua Chu Kang name but occupy the Teck Whye school building.

The mergers were first made known in April 2021, when MOE announced that nine pairs of schools would be merged in the coming years. Of the pairs, Pioneer Primary School and Juying Primary School have merged in the beginning of this school year.

To decide the merged schools’ names, MOE said it worked closely with all merging schools, considering factors such as the schools’ history and heritage, final site of the merged schools, and the sentiments of the schools involved.

To cherish its diverse identities and strengths, each merged school will have a dedicated space documenting the history and heritage of both merging schools.

MOE said it will continue to work closely with the schools to ensure a smooth transition for all students and staff, and in the process, forge a strong identity for the merged schools.

You may like these